Ultimate magazine theme for WordPress.

Arlington Heights Voters Guide: 2022 General Election

ARLINGTON HEIGHTS, IL — Early voting is under way, and Election Day is less than a month away. In Arlington Heights, early voting is taking place at Arlington Heights Village Hall, 33 S. Arlington Heights Road.

Early voting will expand to many locations starting Oct. 24 in Cook County, including:

  • Elk Grove Village Hall, 901 Wellington Ave., Elk Grove Village
  • Hoffman Estates Village Hall, 1900 Hassell Road, Hoffman Estates
  • Mount Prospect Village Hall, 50 S. Emerson St., Mount Prospect
  • Palatine (temporary village hall), 150 W. Wilson Street, Palatine
  • Rolling Meadows Court (Room 238), 2121 Euclid Ave., Rolling Meadows
  • Schaumburg (Trickster Art Gallery), 190 S. Roselle Road, Schaumburg

State laws require early voters to provide a valid photo ID to an election official before receiving a ballot to vote early. Valid forms of ID include a current driver’s license, a driver’s license or state ID, university/college ID or another government-issued ID with a photo, such as a passport.

Mail-in ballot drop boxes are also available at for Cook County voters. The deadline to request a mail-in ballot is Nov. 3.

If you’re not registered to vote, you can register online through Oct. 23. If you want to register by mail, your application must be postmarked by Oct. 11. Voters can also register to vote on election day at your polling place.

If you’re not sure if you’re already registered, you can check online.

On Election Day, polls are open from 6 am to 7 pm Mail-in ballots must also be postmarked by Election Day, Nov 8.

  • Illinois Amendment 1 Right to Collective Bargaining Measure
  • Illinois US Senate — Tammy Duckworth (incumbent Democrat), Kathy Salvi (Republican), Bill Redpath (Libertarian)
  • Illinois Governor — JB Pritzker (incumbent Democrat), Darren Bailey (Republican), Scott Schluter (Libertarian)
  • Illinois Attorney General — Kwame Raoul (incumbent Democrat), Thomas DeVore (Republican), Daniel Robin (Libertarian)
  • Illinois Secretary of State — Alexi Giannoulias (Democrat), Dan Brady (Republican), Jon Stewart (Libertarian)
  • Illinois Comptroller — Susan Mendoza (incumbent Democrat), Shannon Teresi (Republican), Deirdre McCloskey (Libertarian)
  • Illinois Treasurer — Michael Frerichs (incumbent Democrat), Tom Demmer (Republican), Preston Nelson (Libertarian)
  • US House District 5 — Mike Quigley (incumbent Democrat), Tommy Hanson (Republican), Jerico Cruz (independent)
  • Cook County Assessor — Fritz Kaegi (incumbent Democrat), Nico Tsatsoulis (Libertarian)
  • Cook County Clerk — Karen Yarbrough (incumbent Democrat), Tony Peraica (Republican), Joseph Schreiner (Libertarian)
  • Cook County Sheriff — Thomas Dart (incumbent Democrat), Lupe Aguirre (Republican), Brad Sandefur (Libertarian)
  • Cook County Treasurer — Maria Pappas (incumbent Democrat), Peter Kopsaftis (Republican), Michael Murphy (Libertarian)
  • Cook County Board President — Toni Preckwinkle (incumbent Democrat), Bob Fioretti (Republican), Thea Tsatsos (Libertarian)
  • Cook County Board of Commissioners District 15 — Kevin Morrison (incumbent Democrat), Chuck Cerniglia (Republican)
  • Metropolitan Water Reclamation District Commissioner (Unexpired Term) — Daniel ‘Pogo’ Pogorzelski (Democrat), Toneal M. Jackson (Green)
  • Metropolitan Water Reclamation District Commissioners — Yumeka Brown (Democrat), Mark E Buettner (Green), R Cary Capparelli (Republican), Patricia Theresa Flynn (Democrat), Mariyana T. Spyropoulos (Democrat)

Illinois voters are also asked to weigh in on an amendment to the state constitution allowing workers the right to organize and bargain collectively.

The bill, which was drafted by the Illinois General Assembly in 2021, provides that “employees shall have the fundamental right to bargain collectively through representatives of their own choosing for the purpose of negotiating wages, hours and working conditions and to “protect their economic welfare and safety at work.”

In order for the measure to pass, 60 percent of Illinois voters will need to vote in favor of the amendment for it to be added to the constitution.

Comments are closed.