Ultimate magazine theme for WordPress.

Evanston politician Debra Shore has been appointed to a key EPA position by President Biden

Today President Joe Biden named former LGBTQ Victory Institute Chair Debra Shore as the next Administrator of Region Five for the Environmental Protection Agency – representing six states in the Midwest and the countries of 35 recognized tribes. She is currently the Commissioner-Elect of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago. Shore is the newest senior LGBTQ officer in the Biden government, reporting that 14 percent of officers identify as LGBTQ.

“Debra is a longtime civil servant who is passionate about the links between a clean environment and quality of life, especially for underserved communities that are most affected by environmental laws and decisions,” said Mayor Annise Parker, President and CEO of LGBTQ Victory Institute. “Because LGBTQ people face higher rates of poverty than cisgender heterosexual people, EPA regulations and enforcement actions have a greater impact on our community. We know Debra will be a strong and consistent advocate for our nation’s environment while ensuring that the well-being of LGBTQ people and other marginalized populations always plays an important role. “

Shore served on the board of directors of the Victory Institute from 2009 to 2016 – from 2012 to 2014 she was chairman of the board. She was supported by the LGBTQ Victory Fund in all three of her races for the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District.

The Victory Institute’s Presidential Appointments Initiative works with the administration to recommend and advocate qualified LGBTQ leaders who are ready to serve in the administration. The Victory Institute aims to help the Biden government become the most LGBTQ inclusive in US history. The initiative – first launched during President Bill Clinton’s tenure of the Victory Institute – achieved an unprecedented success under President Barack Obama, the most appointed in history, with approximately 330 LGBTQ people. 158 of these were supported by the Presidential Appointments Initiative.

Comments are closed.