Ultimate magazine theme for WordPress.

New area code coming to 708 area in Chicago suburbs this month – NBC Chicago

A new telephone area code is coming into Illinois’ 708 area code region, which includes the southern suburbs of Chicago.

The Illinois Commerce Commission approved “the implementation of the new 464 area code to overlay the existing 708 area code region,” beginning later this month, as phone numbers remain in high demand in Chicago’s southern suburbs.

What does it mean if your phone number starts with 708?

“Starting January 21, 2022, customers in the 708 area code overlay region may be assigned a number in the new 464 area code when requesting new service or an additional line,” the ICC said in a statement. “The 464 area code will coexist with the 708 area code throughout this region.”

But that doesn’t mean you should expect your current number to be automatically changed to the 464 area code.

The ICC shared the following notes that telephone customers should know about the 464 area code overlay:

  • Telephone numbers, including the current area code, will not change.
  • The price of a call, coverage area or other tariffs and services does not change because of the overlay.
  • What is now a local call will remain a local call.
  • Customers in the overlay region will continue to dial 1+10 digits for local calls within and between the overlay area codes and 1+10 digits for long distance calls.
  • Customers can continue to dial just three digits to reach 911, as well as 211, 311, 411, 511, 611, 711, or 811 if they’re currently available in their community.

To get a sense of who this affects, the 708 area code covers most of western and southern Cook County and eastern and southern Will County including: Alsip, Beecher, Bellwood, Berwyn, Blue Island, Bridgeview, Broadview, Burbank, Calumet City, Chicago Heights, Chicago Ridge, Country Club Hills, Crest Hill, Crete, Dolton, Elmwood Park, Evergreen Park, Flossmoor, Forest Park, Glenwood, Harvey, Harwood Heights, Hazel Crest, Hickory Hills, Homewood, Justice, La Grange, Lansing, Lyons, Markham, Matteson, Maywood, Melrose Park, Midlothian, Mokena, Norridge, Northlake, Oak Forest, Oak Lawn, Oak Park, Orland Park, Palos Hills, Palos Park, Park Forest, Richton Park, River Forest , River Grove, Riverdale, South Holland, Steger, Tinley Park, Westchester, Western Springs and Worth.

For more information, ICC directs customers to contact their local telephone service provider or visit the Illinois Commission’s website at https://www.icc.illinois.gov/.

Comments are closed.