Ultimate magazine theme for WordPress.

Latest news from Evanston: Your Tuesday daily digest

Meet the photographers who picture Evanston for the RoundTable

Richard Cahan

“I’m from the Evanston RoundTable and I’d like to take your picture. That’s what I tell people. It usually works.”

That’s RoundTable photographer Richard Cahan, explaining how he convinces Evanstonians to pause long enough to be featured in At This Timehis unique daily photo essay on the life of our community.

We’re very proud of the progress we’ve made expanding and enhancing the content of the RoundTable over the past two years – especially our photography.

With our Spring Membership Drive in full swing, we thought you’d like to know more about Richard Cahan and colleague Joerg Metzner, two of the photographers who have been bringing you some of the RoundTable’s best images.

As a nonprofit newsroom, the RoundTable depends on the community’s support to bring you the great work of contributors such as Richard and Joerg. If you have not yet become a member of the RoundTable, won’t you join us today?

Elsewhere on the RoundTable website

Corky Siegfriedt presents the PTA awards. Credit: Adina Keeling Credit: Adina Keeling

Two District 65 PTA presidents honored with Phyllis Ganser award. Kate Lister and Yoli Maya Yeh Joseph were honored Monday with Phyllis Ganser Outstanding PTA Volunteer of the Year Awards for the support they gave students and parents. Lister leads the Haven Middle School PTA and Joseph is president of the Oakton Elementary PTA and the District 65 PTA Council.

Vendor Pat O’Neal at the Vintage Garage. Credit: Adina Keeling Credit: Adina Keeling

Vintage Garage brings dozens of vendors to Evanston parking garage. More than 70 vendors piled into the Maple Avenue parking garage Sunday, May 22, to sell vintage toys, cashmere sweaters, midcentury furniture, retro lighters and everything in between. The vendors are a part of a Chicago-based flea market called Vintage Garage.

Derrick Gragg (left) with interviewer Ira Mitchell. Credit: Patrick Hughes Credit: Patrick Hughes

Getting to know Derrick Gragg. In this edition of People You Should Know, Derrick Gragg, Vice President for Athletics & Recreation at Northwestern University, is interviewed by Wildcats super-fan Ira Mitchell, co-chair of the board of directors at the Center for Independent Futures.

The Evanston Garden Fair. Credit: Adina Keeling Credit: Adina Keeling

Evanston Garden Fair returns after pandemic hiatus. This last weekend saw the return of the annual Evanston Garden Fair, which took a two-year hiatus due to the pandemic. Almost all the plants were grown by members of the Lincolnwood Garden Club of Evanston.

“Green alley,” photographed by Les Jacobson

The week in photos: May 9-16. This week’s spring photography is all purple and green, with falling lilac pedals and a “green alley.”

Credit: City of Evanston Credit: City of Evanston

Celebrate the opening of the Gibbs-Morrison Teen Center with a ribbon-cutting today. Over the past few months, the Gibbs-Morrison Cultural Center at 1823 Church St. has gone through a transformation with a new Teen Center added for high school students.

City seeks community input on next police chief. Some community members took part in a May 18 town hall on what qualities they’d like to see in Evanston’s next police chief. Recognizing that the Black and Latino communities have a unique and critical perspective and in order to create a safe space for productive conversation, the city will host two additional town halls this evening.

Evanston native Elizabeth McGovern (left) and Laura Carmichael star in “Downton Abbey: A New Era.” Credit: Ben Blackall/Focus Features Credit: Ben Blackall/Focus Features

Film review: Elegant escape to ‘Downton Abbey’ offers movie therapy at its best. Downton Abbey: A New Era is set in the 1920s, when silent films were quickly being replaced by talking films. Prior to embarking on a trip to the Cote d’Azur, the family is convinced by a Hollywood producer to let him film a silent movie at Downton. The movie within the movie (so meta!) is quirky and fun, laced with drama, romance and historical interest.

Join our team: The Evanston RoundTable is growing! Check out our jobs page for opportunities as a reporter.

Around the web

NU COVID-19 positivity rate dips before Dillo Day weekend. Northwestern’s positivity rate declined more than two percentage points to 7.11% with less than three-fourths the number of new positives. However, testing numbers also declined by almost 300 tests.

Kits 2 Commits: Sports commitments for the Class of 2022. Here’s a look where some graduating ETHS student-athletes are headed next year.

NU for Ukraine encourages students to register for first class offered on Ukrainian history. In a Sunday Instagram post, Northwestern for Ukraine encouraged students to sign up for the first NU class offered about Ukrainian history.

Thank you to the more than 80 readers who contributed to our Spring Membership Campaign last week!

Thank you Rita Bailey, Anne Berenberg, Henry Binford, Julie Bordo, Robert Burns, Belinda Clarke, Margaret Clarke, Tom Couch, James Croegaert, Nancy Cunniff, Robert Curley, Karen Danczak Lyons, Michael Davis, Lisa Dimberg, Jason Elzaurdia, Emory Family , Arlene Eskilson, Julie Fredrickson, William Geiger, Joyce Gettleman, Jerry Goldman, Jody Gross, Melanie Hanna, Dolores Hannan, Tom Hazlett, Laine Hoffman, Heith Holzmueller, Shawn Iles, Vinson and Linda Johnson, Ada Kahn, Deborah Kaplan, Walter Keevil , Christina Kelley, Joanne Kelly, Jason Keyser, Catherine Kim, Jennifer Klein, Jane Koten, Joan Lebow, Candy Lee, Naomi Leighton, Theodore Loeppert, Dale Lubotsky, Helen Marshall, Thomas McDade, Marita McLaughlin, Susan Melczer, Matthew Moran, Nancy Myers, Joy Nachrab, Phyllis Nickel, Richard O’Brien, Jennifer O’Neil, Daniel Parker, Julie Parks and Carl Giegold, Jane Pence, Charles Pratt, Lee Randhava, Ken Rolling, Toby Sachs, Melissa Sanko, Daniel Schermerhorn, Frances Seth , Margaret Shakl ee, Barbara Sittler, Rachel Sollinger, Seth Stern, Christiane Tacke, Lois Taft, Eleanor Taylor, Judith Treadway, Sarah Vanderwicken, Nancy Wagner, and Jeremy Yonan.

Comments are closed.